Available 24/7
(302) 273-1442
Se Habla EspaƱol

Ocean Pines Police Report Spike in Blood Alcohol Level in DUI Arrests

Ocean Pines Police Report Spike in Blood Alcohol Level in DUI Arrests

Ocean Pines Police have issued a warning to drivers in the area after seeing a noticeable increase in the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of drivers arrested for driving under the influence (DUI). According to OP Police Chief David Massey, of three recent individuals arrested, one registered a BAC two-and-a-half times the legal limit, the second yielded a BAC two-times the legal limit, and the third was at the legal limit.

As a result of this uptick, the OP Police Department will be assisting Maryland State Police in setting up a sobriety checkpoint in the region in hopes of cracking down on impaired drivers in Worcester County. According to an article published on delawareonline.com, similar DUI checkpoints have yielded 59 arrests for drunk driving in Delaware since July 2016, as well as dozens of arrests for additional violations. 3,777 people were arrested for DUI last year throughout the state, with drunk driving being attributed to 39 traffic deaths.

Does a Higher BAC Carry Harsher Penalties?

Under Delaware state law, drivers who are convicted of driving with a BAC greater than 0.15 – 0.19 and 0.20 or greater can face increased periods of driver’s license revocation, with even higher penalties being reserved for subsequent offenders.

For a first offense:

  • BAC 0.08 to less than 0.15: 12 month license revocation
  • BAC 0.15 to less than 0.19: 18 month license revocation
  • BAC 0.20 or greater: 24 month license revocation

For a second offense:

  • BAC 0.08 to less than 0.15: 24 month license revocation
  • BAC 0.15 to less than 0.19: 24 month license revocation
  • BAC 0.20 or greater: 30 month license revocation

For a third offense:

  • BAC 0.08 to less than 0.15: 24 month license revocation
  • BAC 0.15 to less than 0.19: 30 month license revocation
  • BAC 0.20 or greater: 36 month license revocation

Any subsequent offenses may carry a 60 month driver’s license revocation, in addition to exorbitant fines and years of jail time. Additionally, while first and second offenses are considered misdemeanors, any third or subsequent DUI conviction will be classified as a felony, causing major damage to a person’s future employment options and the loss of certain civil liberties.

Charged with DUI? Call (302) 273-1442

There are few things more frightening than being accused of a crime – especially one as serious as DUI. At the Law Offices of Michael R. Abram, our experienced Delaware DUI attorneys can provide the aggressive advocacy you need to face your charges head-on and minimize your chances of serving serious consequences. With individual attention and responsive communication, we can contest the evidence against you and ensure your rights are guarded during this difficult time.

We proudly serve clients throughout Bethany Beach, Dewey Beach, Lewes, Rehoboth Beach, and out of state areas. Contact our firm today to get an attorney who wins on your side.

Categories