Many Americans will be celebrating Independence Day. Which means many people will choose to spend their day at a BBQ, long hours on the beach, or at a pool party. The holiday lands in the middle of the week, but that won't stop people from celebrating America's independence. Many Delaware residents and in-town visitors will find that there is so much to do for all ages. Some will probably be bouncing from bars to restaurants.
However, the 4th of July and other holidays are also mixed in with the increase in arrests due to alcohol consumption, heightened emotions that lead to violence, and open chances for theft. To avoid spending your weekend behind bars, you must be aware of the potential crimes that could lead to arrest.
The following are the most common crimes on Independence Day:
- DUI – If your blood alcohol content (BAC) is at least .08 percent after being pulled over by law enforcement, you will be charged with driving under the influence of alcohol. A first-time DUI conviction in Delaware is punishable by a maximum 12-month jail sentence, fines of up to $1,500, and driver’s license revocation for up to 12 months.
- BUI – Operating a water vessel while intoxicated by alcohol or drugs is considered boating under the influence (BUI) in Delaware. A first-time BUI conviction carries a maximum six-month jail term and a fine not exceeding $1,000.
- Underage drinking – While adults consume alcohol during the holiday, so do minors. If a minor is arrested for possession of alcohol, he/she could face serious penalties such as driver’s license revocation for up to 30 days and a $100 fine for a first offense.
- Disorderly conduct – Alcohol consumption can lead to drunken shenanigans such as altercations, fights, and other forms of unruly behavior. Intentionally causing public alarm or inconvenience is known as disorderly conduct, which is an unclassified misdemeanor that can result in jail time and fines.
- Theft – From pickpockets to breaking into unattended homes, there are plenty of opportunities for theft during the 4th of July. If the value of the stolen property is under $1,500, it is a Class A misdemeanor that can lead to a jail term of up to one year and a maximum $2,300 fine. If the value of the stolen property is at least $1,500, it is a Class G felony that results in a prison sentence of up to two years.
If you have been arrested on the 4th of July in Dewey or Rehoboth Beach, contact the Law Offices of Michael R. Abram today and schedule a free consultation today.